This post is also available in: Catalan

The UNESCO Chair has been recognized as a research unit of the Institut d’Estudis Catalans.

Chairholder of the UNESCO Chair in Linguistic and Cultural Diversity: Joan A. ARGENTER

Local Team:

Joandomènec ROS, President of the IEC and UB
Joan A. ARGENTER, Director of the UNESCO Chair, IEC and UAB
M. Teresa CABRÉ, President of the Philological Section and UPF
Maria del Mar GRIERA, UAB
Joan MARTÍ I CASTELL, Philological Section and URV
Joan-Francesc MIRA, Philosophy and Social Sciences Section and UJI
Joan MIRALLES, Philological Section and UIB

International Academic Board:

Matthias BRENZINGER, CALDi – Centre for African Language Diversity. University of Cape Town
Dominique DE COURCELLES, CNRS, Paris
Tjeerd DE GRAAF, Fryske Akademy
Guy DEUTSCHER, School of Languages, Linguistics and Cultures. University of Manchester
Nancy C. DORIAN, Bryn Mawr College, Pennsylvania, USA
Alessandro DURANTI, UC Los Angeles
Nicholas EVANS, School of Culture, History and Language al College of Asia and the Pacific. Australian National University
Bruna FRANCHETTO, National Museum, Rio de Janeiro
Lenore A. GRENOBLE, University of Chicago
Colette GRINEVALD, Université de Lyon
Leanne HINTON, UC Berkeley
Leena HUSS, Uppsala University
Itziar IDIAZÁBAL, UNESCO Chair of World Linguistic Heritage – EHU
Juan Carlos MORENO, Universitat Autònoma de Madrid
Dwight REYNOLDS, UC Santa Barbara
Julia SALLABANK, SOAS – School of Oriental and African Studies, London
George VAN DRIEM, University of Bern

Secretarial staff:

Administrative support:  Mercè MONTAÑÁ

Technical support:

Rosa CALAFAT, University of the Balearic Islands (2008 – 2011)
Joan MOLES (2003 – 2007)


Lorena AULADELL / Faculty of Political Science and Sociology of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (course 2005 – 2006)

Marc HERRAIZ ESTEBAN / Studies of Political Science and Public Administration of the Universitat Pompeu Fabra (course 2006 – 2007)

Collaborators in academic activities (research, training courses, third cycle programmes) and in cooperation projects

Over the years 281 visiting professors, speakers and researchers have contributed to the activities of the UNESCO Chair, 114 foreigners and 167 local.